Betting Guides for Top Cricket Tournaments (2022)

There are so many showstopping cricket tournaments to look forward to through the year, so we've listed them all below. Check out our guides for each to view the latest odds, tips and predictions.  

Unlike most sports, there are actually several different popular and major forms of cricket. To help you navigate through the different cricket tournaments and top cricket leagues, here is a short introduction to the most popular formats.

cricket formats


Test cricket is considered to be the pinnacle of cricket and the favoured format of cricket purists the world over. Played over 5 days with each team getting two innings each, only the most elite players make an international Test team, and only the very best cricket-playing nations compete to Test Match level!


The original limited-overs cricket, One Day cricket – known as One Day Internationals in the international realm – is played over several hours with each team receiving a single innings of 50 overs. Over the years, this format has seen subtle little rules being added, which in turn have increased its popularity.


Arguably the most popular cricket format and almost certainly the most exciting, Twenty20 cricket is all about athleticism, big sixes, and innovative play. T20 matches are usually completed in just 3 hours with limits to 20 overs of gameplay, making this the shortest and fastest form of the game. The IPL has really helped this format grow in popularity, and you’ll find plenty of fun markets to bet on at the best cricket betting sites India online.

Top International Cricket Tournaments

International tournaments are when countries play each other either in a head-to-head series, a tri-nations limited overs series, or a major tournament, featuring a large number of participants (such as the ICC World Cup).

Top Test Cricket Tournaments, Matches & Series

Top ODI Cricket Tournaments

Top T20I Cricket Tournaments

Top Domestic Cricket Leagues

Cricket is more than just an international sport. Punters who wish to bet on cricket online can also watch and wager on domestic cricket leagues too. These can be local competitions featuring players from that country, or much larger leagues that attract international players from around the world.

Other Cricket Leagues in India

It’s not just the Men in Blue and the IPL that entertain Indian cricket fans and punters. As the most popular sport in India, below are the other top cricket tournaments and leagues played in the country.

  • Deodhar Trophy
  • Duleep Trophy
  • Irani Trophy
  • NKP Salve Challenger Trophy
  • Ranji Trophy
  • Syed Mushtaq Trophy
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy

Other Cricket Tournaments

How Our Tournament Betting Guides Work

Here at CricketBettingAdvice, we like to think of ourselves as your ultimate source for cricket betting tips and match prediction insights. Apart from bringing you sporting tips, we've also listed the best betting payment methods, all the best ways to bet on cricket, and how to use the best cricket betting apps in India.

Our cricket prediction and betting guides inform Indian punters of all the best odds in leading markets and which cricket betting sites will provide the best experience. You’ll have access to key players, the form of all the teams, and crucial analysis using historical data and a comprehensive study of statistics.

Top Cricket Tournaments Key Stats

Below are some astounding statistics of top cricket tournaments that may very well knock your socks (sixes?) off.

  • 734 – The number of sixes belted in last year’s IPL season. ‘Most Sixes' is a popular wager at the best IPL betting sites in India, with plenty of ultra-talented candidates to add to your betting slip.
  • 400 – 450 – The average number of overs during a 5-day test match. There are several bets linked to an individual ball, over, and the performance of bowers in a test match. Just think of how much opportunity there is when betting at in-play betting sites in India!
  • Over 150 – That’s how many international cricket matches were scheduled in 2019 – not even including leagues such as the IPL.
  • 31.57 million – The average number of viewers who tuned in to watch the IPL in 2020, according to Star India. That’s a 23% increase over the previous year. No wonder there are so many amazing markets available to bet on the IPL each year!

A Brief History of Cricket

The great sport of cricket began sometime in the beginning of the 16th century in the south of England. By the late 19th century, the game had developed into the sport we know and love today. In 1844, international cricket began with the first match between the US and Canada – surprisingly enough!

By the time the International Cricket Conference (ICC) was formed, only Australia, England and South Africa were considered international teams. They were shortly followed by India, the West Indies, New Zealand, and Pakistan in the coming decades.

Between the 1970s and early 2000s, the sport underwent many changes, with the popularity of limited-over formats such as One Day Internationals and Twenty20 taking priority over Test cricket. With a larger audience and more accessibility for the mainstream public, cricket is now one of the most popular sports in the world.

Best Cricket Tournaments FAQs

It really depends on who you ask; having said that, though, the Ashes, played between Australia and England, is arguably the most popular Test series. The series has been played since 1882 and is the oldest rivalry in cricket by far.

What’s the best betting site for cricket tournaments?

You’ll find a lot of fantastic betting site platforms available to the Indian punter online. However, we highly recommend 10CRIC, 1xBet, and Betway as three of the absolute best for cricket betting.

With record-breaking TV viewership and packed crowds, year after year, the Indian Premier League is clearly the most popular cricket league in the world. The leading cricket league attracts the best talent, and is a format that allows legendary players to show off their skills for our enjoyment!

CricketBettingAdvice Final Say

Before you dive headfirst into cricket betting, be sure to check out the top guides and match predictions on offer at CricketBettingAdvice. Whether betting on IPL, International Test Matches, or the European Cricket League, understanding form and staying on top of the latest statistics will help you make smarter bets.

This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies