What’s The Tata IPL 2023 Prize Money? Find Out Here!

Valued at a staggering $10.9 billion (approx. ₹90,000 crores) at the beginning of the 16th season this year, the Indian Premier League has registered a 900% growth in value since it started in 2008. For a domestic league this grand, the IPL 2023 prize money is undoubtedly massive too, and so is the IPL online betting scope.

In this blog, we’ll read all about the IPL first prize money, along with the IPL prize money in 2022 and all other seasons. Stay with us and check for yourself what a gigantic money-mining machine the IPL is!

How Much Is The IPL 2023 Prize Money?

Ranked as the world's fourth-richest sports league in terms of revenue, the IPL is the only domestic cricket competition in the list of the top 10 sports leagues, with revenues touching $7 billion (approx. ₹56,000 crores as of the day of writing). Given the dazzling riches, one would assume that the prize money would be generous, and rightly so. From a relatively humble ₹4.80 crore in 2008, the IPL prize money has grown by more than 4x over these 15 seasons. So, what is the IPL prize money in 2023?

IPL Winner Prize Money 2023

At present, the IPL 2023 prize money for the winning team is ₹20 crores, the same as the IPL 2022 prize money. Given the rapid hike in the league’s valuation (from approx. $6 billion in 2020 to almost $11 billion now) coupled with the BCCI’s decision to increase the prize money for other domestic tournaments like the Ranji Trophy and the Duleep Trophy in 2023, there have been speculations that the winning team will get a 20-25% prize hike. No official announcements so far, though!

IPL 2023 Runner-up Prize Money

The runner-up prize money has also increased over the years, and this season, the runner-up team is expected to take home ₹13 crores.

IPL 2023 Prize Money for 3rd & 4th Teams

If you thought reaching the qualifiers would fetch the team no money, think again. The losing team in the second qualifier (or the 3rd-place team) gets ₹7 crores, and the team losing the eliminator (the 4th-place team) gets ₹6.50 crores.

IPL 2022 Prize Money

The IPL winner prize money in 2022 was ₹20 crores, while the runner-up team took home ₹13 crores.

Looking to bet on the IPL? Check out some of the top-rated betting apps below.

Best Betting Apps for Cricket

IPL Prize Money: From 2008 – 2022

Here’s a list of the IPL prize money for all the seasons, right from 2008 until now.

SeasonWinning TeamIPL Winner Prize Money (in ₹ crores)
Runners-UpIPL Runners-Up Prize Money (in ₹ crores)
2022Gujarat Titans20Rajasthan Royals13
2021Chennai Super Kings20Kolkata Knight Riders12.50
2020Mumbai Indians10Delhi Capitals6.25
2019Mumbai Indians20Chennai Super Kings12.5
2018Chennai Super Kings20Sunrisers Hyderabad12.5
2017Mumbai Indians15Rising Pune Super Giants10
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad15Royal Challengers Bangalore10
2015Mumbai Indians15Chennai Super Kings10
2014Kolkata Knight Riders15Kings XI Punjab10
2013Mumbai Indians10Chennai Super Kings5
2012Kolkata Knight Riders10Chennai Super Kings5
2011Chennai Super Kings10Royal Challengers Bangalore5
2010Chennai Super Kings10Mumbai Indians5
2009Deccan Chargers4.80Royal Challengers Bangalore2.40
2008Rajasthan Royals4.80Chennai Super Kings2.40

IPL Franchise Valuations In 2023

According to Forbes, the Indian Premier League has seen a massive surge in the average franchise value from $67 million in 2008 to $1.04 billion in 2023. Here are the latest valuations of the IPL franchises as of 2023:


Mumbai IndiansReliance Industries$1.30 billion
Chennai Super KingsIndia Cements$1.15 billion
Kolkata Knight Riders
Red Chillies Entertainment$1.10 billion
Lucknow Super Giants
RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group$1.075 billion
Delhi CapitalsGMR Group, JSW Group$1.035 billion
Royal Challengers BangaloreUnited Breweries$1.025 billion
Rajasthan RoyalsEmerging Media Ltd.$1 billion
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sun TV Network$970 million
Punjab KingsPZNZ Media, Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia$925 million
Gujarat Titans
CVC Capital Partners$850 million

IPL 2023 Prize Money FAQs

Which are the best bookies for IPL betting?

We have already listed the top five bookies in the table above, but if we were to further narrow down our list of the best cricket betting sites for the IPL, then Melbet, 10CRIC, and Parimatch would top our list.

What is the IPL prize money in 2023?

The IPL 2023 prize money bucket is ₹46.50 crores, the same as last year. However, there are chances that it might see a last-moment increase of 20–25%.

How much money will the winning team get in IPL 2023? How much will the IPL 2023 runner-up get?

The IPL winner prize money in 2023 is ₹20 crores, while the runner-up will receive ₹13 crores.

How much was the IPL 2022 prize money? Ad how much was the IPL winner prize money 2022?

The IPL winner prize money 2022 was ₹20 crores, while the runner-up prize money was ₹13 crores.

What is the prize money for the 2023 IPL’s Emerging Player of the Tournament?

The IPL 2023 prize money for the emerging player is fixed at ₹20 lakhs this year.

What is the prize money for the orange cap in 2023?

Besides the emerging player award, the orange cap winner (batter with the most runs) and the purple cap winner (bowler with the most wickets) will get ₹15 lakhs each.

How does the IPL earn revenues?

The Indian Premier League is one of the most successful leagues in terms of attracting sponsors and media houses. The league mainly earns revenues from the sale of media rights and sponsorships. To give you an example of this year’s revenues, the IPL earned ₹48,000 crores in revenue from the sale of broadcasting rights to Disney and Reliance-owned Viacom 18.

This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies