India I League Betting Guide

Along with the India Super League and the Goa Pro League, the Hero I-League is an extremely popular choice for sports betting in India. In this I-League betting guide, we’ll run through everything punters need to know, including odds, betting tips and popular markets.

Best Betting Sites for the India I-League

22bet logo

  • Get a ₹10,000 sports betting bonus
  • Numerous I-League markets available
  • Top-quality mobile app


1xbet logo

  • Great selection of payment options
  • Numerous promotions available
  • Highly competitive I-League odds


ComeOn! Logo

  • 100% Deposit Bonus worth ₹2500
  • Very responsive customer support
  • Slick website design


dafabet logo

  • 160% up to ₹16,000 first deposit bonus
  • Loads of promotions to redeem
  • Multiple sports to choose from


Top 4 Sites for India I-League Betting – Ranked

  1. 22Bet
  2. 1xbet
  3. ComeOn!
  4. Dafabet

India I-League Match Betting Odds

India I- League Odds: Punjab FC vs Mohammedan SC

Team 10Cric Betwinner 888Sports
Punjab FC 2.05 2.13 2.00
Mohammedan SC 3.60 3.44 3.55
Draw 2.90 3.17 3.10

India I-League Odds: Real Kashmir FC vs Trau FC

Team 10CRIC BETWINNER 888Sports
Real Kashmir FC 2.10 2.27 2.25
Trau FC 3.25 3.07 3.00
Draw 3.05 3.22 3.05

India I-League Odds: Churchill Brother SC vs Gokulam Kerala FC

Team 10CRIC BETWINNER 888Sports
Churchill Brother SC 2.00 2.08 2.00
Draw 3.20 3.32 3.25

India I-League Betting Tips & Predictions

  • Search for value: Search for scenarios where you feel football betting sites have wrongly priced a market and seize the opportunity.
  • Specialise: Familiarise yourself with specific teams and markets to get an edge over the bookies.
  • Get statistical: Back up your judgment with statistical data for a more holistic approach to sports betting.

There’s no shortage of markets when it comes to I-League betting. Here are a few of our favourite I-League betting markets with a brief explanation of each:

I-League Betting: Full Time Result

The simplest of all markets, betting on the full-time result is a straight bet on the winner of the match. This is the most popular bet for both pre-match and in-play betting sites.

Best I-League betting site for Full Time Result: Dafabet

I-League Betting: Handicap Betting

Handicap markets are a great option in scenarios between mismatched teams. Through this market, odds can be boosted for the favourite to win by applying a virtual disadvantage to their score, such as Churchill Brothers SC starting with a -1 deficit. In this case, Churchill Brothers would have to win by over 1 goal for the bet to be successful. This market can also be applied in reverse by placing a virtual advantage on the underdog.

I-League Betting: Both Teams to Score

A popular market in all football competitions, this is a wager on whether both teams will score at least one goal in a match or not.

Best I-League Betting Site for Both Teams to Score: 1xBet

I-League Betting: Corner Betting

For those that wish to deviate from betting on results and/or goals, corner betting is a fantastic alternative. There are loads of markets related to corner betting, such as over/under x number of total corners, over/under corners for team A or team B, how many corners to be taken in a specific half, and corner handicap markets.

I-League Tournament Structure

To say that this league’s format has been changed frequently would be an understatement. Since its debut in 2007, the rules of the league have been changed on an almost yearly basis. At the time of writing, there are 11 teams participating in the competition.

The 2020-21 league underwent a major overhaul amidst the pandemic, with the tournament divided into two stages, rather than having every team playing each other twice. During the first phase, all 11 teams will play each other once. Once this is done, the top five teams will be grouped together to face off for the Championship, while the bottom six will be grouped separately where they will bid to avoid relegation. Each team will face each team in their group once during this period. Matches will be played out across four venues in Kolkata using sports bubbles to prevent transmission of the virus.

The winner of the I-League will be rewarded with a direct spot in the 2022 AFC Cup group stage.

Ordinarily, teams face each other twice on home and away soil, and the team that finishes with the highest points total will be crowned as the champions.

History of the I-League

The Hero I-League was founded in 2007, replacing the National Football League as India’s premier football league. This change came about after a decade of the NFL suffering from poor infrastructure and a lack of professionalism from its clubs.

The first season saw 10 teams take part, before it was expanded to 12 teams the season after. Since then, the number of teams has consistently been adjusted, at one point going up to 14 teams. At the time of writing, 11 teams participate in this division.

The foundation of the Indian Super League (ISL) in 2013 has heavily impacted the Hero I-League. For a couple of years, the two competitions co-existed as the two premier divisions in the country. However, due to the increased popularity in the Super League, the ISL was officially named as the official top league In India. As of the 2023-24 season, the winners of the I-League will be promoted to the ISL League.

The I-League title has been won most times by Dempo SC, who claimed it three times since 2007, including its debut season.

Past Winners of the I-League

Year Winner Runner-up
2019-20 Mohun Bagan N/A
2018-19 Chennai City East Benegal
2017 -18 Minerva Punjab NEROCA
2016-17 Aizawl Mohun Bagan
2015-16 Bengaluru Mohun Bagan
2014-15 Mohun Bagan Bengaluru
2013-14 Bengaluru East Bengal
2012-13 Churchill Brothers Pune
2011-12 Dempo East Bengal
2010-11 Salgaocar East Bengal
2009-10 Dempo Churchill Brothers
2008-09 Churchill Brothers Mohun Bagan
2007-08 Dempo Churchill Brothers

I-League Key Stats

  • East Bengal have recorded the largest number of points in I League history.
  • Mohun Bagal recorded the highest number of consecutive wins with 10 in the 2008-09 season.
  • The biggest transfer fee paid by an I-league club is ₹7 crore, paid by East Bengal for the transfer of Uga Okpara in 2009.
  • Ranti Martins scored 7 goals vs Air India on 30/05/11, the most number of goals in a single match in I-League history.
  • Dempo Club scored the highest number of goals in a single season in 2010/11, when they found the net 63 times.

I-League Betting FAQs

Which are the best sites for I-League Betting?

All things considered, our top 3 bookies for I-League betting would be 22bet and 1xbet, since they offer the finest combination of odds, variety of markets, betting payment methods and overall user experience.

When does the I-League season take place?

The I-League typically takes place from January till May, although due to the limitations caused by the pandemic, the 2020-21 season will only take place from the 9th January 2021 until 28th March 2021.

Who has won the highest number of I-League titles?

Dempo SC have claimed the I-league trophy the highest number of times, winning it on 3 separate occasions.

CricketBettingAdvice Final Say

While the Hero I-League has been largely overshadowed by the Super League in recent years, this is still a heavily followed competition and one which provides punters with plenty of betting opportunities. With the decision that teams will begin qualifying from the I-League to the Super League in 2023, it’s important for I-League teams to be at their sharpest.

This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies